Ateneo Art Gallery announces the winning Artists and Writers of the Ateneo Art Awards 2023

The Ateneo Art Gallery (AAG) officially announced the Winning Artists and Writers for the Ateneo Art Awards (AAA) 2023 Fernando Zóbel Prizes for Visual Art and Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes in Art Criticism (PKL). The Awarding Ceremony was held at the Suthira B Zalamea Lobby, Areté, last September 24, Sunday.

For the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes in Art Criticism, two winners were selected from the English category: Sean Carballo for his essay “Object Impermanence” for the PKL Prize for The Philippine Star, and Sam Del Castillo for her essay “The Artist as Artificer: Santiago Bose’s Self-Made Worlds” for the PKL Prize for ArtAsiaPacific Magazine. From the Filipino category, Noji Bajet has been awarded the PKL Prize for Katipunan Journal for his essay “Ang Pagong sa Kalye Pergolese.” Bajet is also the selected recipient of the Orange Project Residency Grant. Each of the winners will be given the opportunity by our publication partners to have their written works published.

The Awarding Ceremony also highlighted the 20th anniversary of the Ateneo Art Awards, as well as the 10th anniversary of the PKL Prizes.

The Ateneo Art Awards 2023 is currently on-view at the Fredesvinda Almeda Consunji Gallery, Ambeth R Ocampo Gallery, Elizabeth Gokongwei Gallery and the Alicia P Lorenzo Gallery, 3F Ateneo Art Gallery, Soledad V Pangilinan Arts Wing, Areté, Ateneo de Manila University. Open Mondays to Saturdays from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Non-Ateneo guests must visit to facilitate their entry into campus at least one (1) hour prior to their arrival. Winning and shortlisted essays of the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prize are available for browsing at the Vital Points microsite:

This program is co-presented with Kalaw-Ledesma Foundation Inc., and The Philippine Star; in partnership with ArtAsiaPacific, Katipunan Journal, and the Embassy of Italy in the Philippines; venue partner Shangri-La Plaza; residency partners Orange Project, Bacolod, ABungalow, CASA San Miguel, No Space, Project Space Pilipinas, La Trobe University, OCAD University, Liverpool Hope University, and Artesan Gallery + Studio. For further information, visit or email [email protected].


Photo by Clefvan Pornela.

Kindly note that the text presented here represents an excerpt from the complete release. To read the entire announcement, please visit this page on the Ateneo Art Gallery website.